Oregon Book Awards Finalist: Fjords vol. 1

You can cast your vote for the 2013 Readers' Choice Award online at oregonlive.com/books.  The winner will be announced at the Oregon Book Awards ceremony on April 8th at the Gerding Theater at the Armory.

2013 Oregon Book Awards Finalist
Fjords vol. 1 by Zachary Schomburg

Black Ocean


Fjords vol. 1 is a collection of prose poems written from dreams obsessed with death in the face of love.

A poem from Fjords vol. 1
"The Woman Who Falls from the Sky"
I am at a fruit stand on the side of the road when a 
woman falls from the sky onto a pile of cantaloupe.  
She has French braids and is not dead.  This is how 
everyday starts with us, a kind of waking up into
the day in front of me, and then every night she 
falls through a dark hole.  I should say this isn't 
exactly true, the part about falling through the sky.  
The truth is we woke up like the rest of you, in a 
bed with our hot mouths falling open.  But it was 
glorious, a goddamned miracle, the crashing into 
and the never dying. 

Praise for Fjords vol. 1

"Zachary Schomburg may be one of the sincerest surrealists around." --Publishers Weekly

"Schomburg is possibly the man who will save poetry for all of those readers who are about to give up on the genre." --The Huffington Post

About the Author
Zachary Schomburg is the author of The Man Suit (2007), Scary, No Scary (2009), Fjords vol. 1 (2012), and the forthcoming The Book of Joshua.  He co-edits Octopus Books and co-curates the Bad Blood Reading Series.  He lives in Portland, Oregon.

Suggested Links
Zachary Schomburg's Website 
Full Publishers Weekly Review
The Rumpus Review

Buy the Book
Powell's Books
Broadway Books